Sunday Mixtape
That’s What She Said

Mixed by Lara Downes • Artwork by Natalie Brake

Artwork: Natalie Brake // // Instagram: @nataliebrakeart

This tape was mixed while working on the project Holes in the Sky: music written and performed by women. A selection of works sharing stories of women’s lives and celebrating the sounds and echoes of their voices.

Track Listing

  • Angelica Negron: Sueno Recurrente – Lara Downes, piano
  • Clarice Assad: The Last SongSergio Assad, Odair Assad, Yo-Yo Ma, Kathryn Stott, Joseph Gramley
  • Elena Ruehr: How She Danced from String Quartet #3 – Cypress String Quartet
  • Marika Takeuchi: Evolve – Marika Takeuchi
  • Eve Beglarian: I Am a Very Simple Person  Eve Beglarian, Mary Rowell
  • Nina Simone: Black is the Color of my True Love’s Hair – Lara Downes
  • Dani Howard: Argentum – Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, Michael Seal
  • Jennifer Higdon: Gilmore Variation – Lara Downes
  • Kitty Brazelton: My Perfect ToesDadadah
  • Billie Holiday: God Bless the Child – Lara Downes


Mix: Lara Downes //

Artwork: Natalie Brake // // Instagram: @nataliebrakeart